CALIFORNIA PUBLIC-SAFETY RADIO ASS'N MEETS AT LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA

Foster Strong Attends Meeting

Our regular meeting was held Nov. 13, 1964, at Edgewater Inn, Marina Hotel, Long Beach, California. Dallas W. Cooper hosted the 34 members.

In the absence of President Robert E. Brooking, Vice-President Don Griffin opened the meeting at 10:30 A.M.

Don Griffin welcomed retired CPRA member Foster Strong to this, his first meeting since his stroke a year and a half ago. All members were pleased with the progress Foster is making and a complete recovery is hoped for very soon.

Les Walker, of the Technical Committee discussed the areas under study by the working group, such as the feasibility of variable power base stations, receiver voting systems and criteria to establish transmitter power antenna gain and height.

General discussion regarding the FCC study and we were advised that Robert E. Brooking is on the Executive Committee JTAC. Bob will report at a subsequent meeting of CPRA.

R. I. "Cuba" Morris reported on County Engineers meeting at Palm Springs, indicating that there is hope of vitalizing the Communications Committee to discuss the new teletype system.

Treasurer's report by Marion Henson showed \$2,514.02 with several code books sold to Santa Barbara.

Max Elliott, of Orange County reported that the Intersystem Network was checked November 12, 1964 and everything functioned satisfactorily. Show of hands of those planning to attend the Yuma meeting with the Arizona Chapter, indicated at least 23 would attend.

Motion by Les Walker/Jim Colquhoun to set March 25 and 26th for joint CPRA/ Northern California APCO meeting. Secretary Anthony J. Gain was to contact Northern APCO with this recommendation.

Eddie Simon, alternate for vacationing Chairman Al Keith, of the Frequency Committee, reported seven requests handled.

After luncheon, at which time Commercial representatives talked about their products, Max Elliot of the Nominating Committee recommended the following as CPRA officers for 1965:

President - Don Griffin

Vice-Pres. - Anthony J. Gain

Secretary - Ray Baird Treasurer - Marion Henson

Sgt. at Arms - Dallas W. Cooper

Director -Robert E. Brooking

Meeting adjourned at 2:00 P.M.

Anthony J. Gain, Secretary

January 1965

INDIANA CHAPTER MEETS S.P. Communications Toured

The annual meeting of Indiana Chapter was held December 7, 1964, at F.O.P. Hall, Indianapolis, with 57 present. Hosts were PD Indianapolis and SP Indianapolis.

Refreshments served during our ten a.m. - noon period of conviviality were by Walt Halfpap, of Motorola. Commercial members from Quad States Electronics, Radio Distributing, Delco-Remy, Motorola and Reach Electronics presented their products at this time.

The "Special" Indiana Chapter APCO Home-Style Fried Indiana Chicken Dinner was served by host members with Frank Campbell's secretary, Vi Woodruff, as head chef. The chicken detail was given a rousing approval. Frank Campbell introduced Captain Arthur R. Raney, Jr., of Indiana S.P. Division Director of Records and Communications, who welcomed the APCO members and thanked them for their untiring efforts.

After a short recess in order to clear away the chicken bones (understand that trouble was encountered removing the pile(s) of bones in front of the placemat initialed "FDC" as Frank got two stuck in his left ear in his hasty attempt to decide between Michigan and Indiana style chicken - KC), President Gordon Nutty called on Walt Halfpap, Ted Boldt, Ray Baumgart, Barney O'Connor and Wayne Nidlinger, of Motorola; Bill Xanders of Quad States Electronics, who in turn introduced Don Schnoebelen, Ken Bible, and Keith Wycoff, who demonstrated Reach Electronic Products. They showed a Hush-Gate for off-channel stations and an encoder, capable of 3,540 selections; Jan Eden of Recording and Sound, Inc., Les Bannon and Bob Wycoff of Radio Distributing; Lloyd Gooding and Bruce Gribben of Delco-Remy, and Wes Steele of Communications Maintenance.

President Nutty's annual report gave resume' of the Chapter's activities in 1964. Gordon reported on participation at Norfolk APCO Conference and hopes that everyone can make the Chicago Conference in Chicago in August, 1965 as it is close to home. Secretary Compbell advised that the average attendance during year had been 43 per meeting. We now have 111 members, with balance of \$581.41, a gain of \$23.41 over last year. Frank also reported for FAC that 30 entities had been assisted in obtaining L.G. frequencies, also 11 to obtain Police frequencies during the year.

Charles Woodard reported for John Milks, Chairman of Training and Procedure Committee on the October 15th Seminar attended by 78 persons from 26 departments.

(Continued next col. - bottom)

WISCONSIN APCO AT BARABOO

Unauthorized Monitors Require Legislation

Our November 10th, 1964, meeting was held at Baraboo, Wisconsin, with R. R. Chandler, of Sauk County as host.

V-P Jim Hauser chaired the meeting in the absence of the President. Thirtyfive members were present.

Motion of Erwin Beneditz/Floyd Stone minutes of Madison meeting approved. President Milt Wisler arrived during reading of minutes and took over his duties.

Motion of Ralph Matteson/Wallace Stengel that Treasurer's report be accepted. Carried.

Secretary advised that letters have been sent to Enforcement Agency organizations regarding unauthorized monitors. Norv Rollins advised that he had been contacted by Mike Spencer, President of Wisconsin Sheriff's Association, with an offer to introduce a bill to the legislature if we would help to formulate it. Spencer explained the function of the W.S.A. and cited examples of troubles experienced with monitoring. President Milt Wisler appointed Ralph Matteson, Floyd Stone, Doug Lewis and Norv Rollins to serve as a committee to meet with the Sheriff's Association's Legislative Committee.

Norv Rollins, Chairman of Frequency Coordination and Allocation reported 13 waivers issued.

Moved by Norman Walker/Don Pike that we adjourn. Carried.

Delicious steak dinner served at Fischer's, Lake Delton.

- Herbert C. Buschel, Secry.



INDIANA CHAPTER

President Nutty appointed Willard Riney and Wellington Good as tellers for election. There were no new nominations from the floor. The following were declared elected: President - Gordon Nutty; First V.P. - Charles Woodard; Second V.P. - Earl Peters; Secry-Treas. - Frank Campbell and two Directors - Charles Miner and J. B. VanSickle. Oscar Sykes was elected as Director to replace Peters in that office.

Next meeting is scheduled for March 18, 1965, at Bloomington. A visit to Bloomington P.D.'s new Communications installation.

Meeting adjourned at 2:15 p.m. for a tour of the fabulous State Police Radio system in the new Indiana State Office Building.

Frank Campbell, Secry-Treas.

